October Bucket List

My attempt at carving a pumpkin this weekend. It’s supposed to be a witch stirring a cauldron…


For the past few weeks,the sky has been an ombré of slate blue, dingy white and gray clouds. Bucketsof rain have thudded from the sky like fists on a table. Summer’s finalafternoon thunderstorm tantrums are approaching an end. The landscape is changing—the onceverdant landscape is now tinged with bronze. Autumn is coming–and today it’ssunny.
I’ve always found the changing of the seasons both comforting and invigorating. Change, in every form, has always been welcome in my life. I’m energized by the challenge of all things new. The transition into a new season only reinforces my love of change. Though this isn’t my first autumn, Halloween or year carving pumpkins, all these things are new again, which make me love them again and anew.

Lately, I’ve been behaving like a Paris transplant who’s yet to visit the Louvre. There’s so much to see, to do, to eat, to experience here in this beautiful Southern city and all I’ve done is work, work, work. My antidote? A bucket list. October is halfway over and I’m not going to waste the remaining two weeks. 
October Bucket List
  1. Experience Boone Hall Plantation’s corn maze
  2. Eat a doughnut (or two) from Glazed downtown
  3. Carve a pumpkin.
  4. Try Two Boroughs Larder from Lunch
  5. Go for a run downtown (like I used to)
  6. Decide on a Halloween costume
  7. Concoct a healthier version of pumpkin bread
  8. Try a new recipe— I’ve got my eye on this Thai Shrimp Halibut Curry
  9. Get the sh*t scared out of me at Boone Hall’s Fright Night
  10. Find a great sushi place in Mount Pleasant 

Am I missing anything? What else should go on my bucket list for October? What about November?



2 thoughts on “October Bucket List

  1. I can help with #10. Have you ever been to UMI? It is located near the publix in Park West. We have tried every spot in Mt. P and this is our favorite. They have great special rolls. 🙂 Nice to find your blog (I found you off twitter!)

Leave a comment