Post Brunch on the Bank

What’s the last thing you want to do on a Sunday? Go anywhere. If you missed Brunch on the Bank this past Sunday I don’t blame you– except, I kind of do.

I’ll admit  that after Charleston Affair and Cinco de Drinko I didn’t want to drive to Brittlebank Park for Brunch on the Bank; I didn’t even know where it was. (It’s off of Lockwood Blvd. near Joe Riley Stadium.) As soon as I opened my car door it became worth it. Southern blues crooning wafted to the (free) parking lot. It got better the closer I got to the park itself.

Pot Kettle Black. Diggity Doughnuts. Happy Camper Sno Cones. Geechee Island. Hello My Name is BBQ. King of Pops. Taco Boy. Jack’s Cosmic Dogs. The park was full of Charleston’s best food trucks, many that I hadn’t had a chance to try yet.

Diggity Doughnuts is a Charleston treasure, and one that I wish I could say I had tried sooner. Made without eggs or dairy, these doughnuts are light, flavorful and unbelievably delicious. These babies are so good they’d be just as good on their own. I really appreciate that the cake doughnuts aren’t too sweet. I tried the Lucky Dragon, which is a cake doughnut topped with a ginger and lemongrass glaze. The Nutty Rooster, peanut butter and spicy chiles, is going to be my next indulgence.

I didn’t stop at this cute sno cone food truck, but couldn’t help myself from taking a photograph. How adorable is this?

Still hungry, I headed over to the Hello My Name is BBQ truck. Usually, I’m the most indecisive orderer, but I knew immediately what I wanted after seeing their menu: a Holy City with jalepenos, pickles and pimento cheese. (I’m a sucker for anything pickled or spicy!)

Hello My Name is BBQ’s pulled pork is so tender and flavorful, thanks to being braised in beer no doubt, that it doesn’t need a lick of sauce. The pickled cucumbers and jalepenos are homemade in the best sense of the word. A bit sweet and more interesting flavor-wise than anything from Vlasic or Mt. Olive, they provide a nice light foil to the pork. The brioche bun is a classy touch. It’s the perfect constitution of bread to stand up to the generous portion of pulled pork.

 

As a sweet conclusion to the perfect day of eating I headed to King of Pops Charleston for a Banana Caramel popsicle. The caramel, courtesy of Sweeteeth Chocolate, was excellent. This popsicle tasted like a lighter and creamier version of a bananas foster. So. Good.

If you missed this year’s Brunch on the Bank, you missed a day meant for strolling, drinking and eating– all of the things that Charlestonians do best– on one of the most beautiful days of the year. Don’t make the mistake of missing it next year.

3 thoughts on “Post Brunch on the Bank

Leave a Reply

