Weekend Highlights: Mother’s Day and Anniversary

always love seeing my mother and godmother, Caroline. I was blessed with the best mother possible and she, in turn, blessed with the greatest best friend possible in my godmother. The two of them have been gentle yet formative forces in my upbringing. Not everyone is gifted with such a great relationship with their parents. 

This weekend the three of us celebrated Mother’s Day with glasses of sparkling rosé wine and a lovely selection of charcuterie and cheeses from downtown favorite Goat.Sheep.Cow. We celebrated the same way last year and as long as I have roots in Charleston this will remain a tradition. I also made a Rosemary Infused Lemon Curd Tart; a perfect palate cleanser after our meat and cheese extravaganza. 

 

ImageMy boyfriend and I celebrated our year and a half anniversary this past Friday on the couch catching up on episodes of New Girl, Grimm and Game of Thrones. He surprised me with a subscription to one of my favorite publications: The Atlantic. He had remembered me mentioning how much I wanted a subscription since I visit the magazine’s website on a daily basis. Good man. 

I hit the farmers’ market this weekend with my mother and had my first banh mi of the season at Charleston Street Hero (you’ve heard me go on and on about this fabulous sandwich vendor), tried another flavor of popsicle from King of Pops (pineapple habanero) and bought beautiful veggies: lima beans, baby radishes, tomatoes, silver corn, fresh pasta and green tomatoes. Great recipes coming your way this week.

Anyone have any suggestions for what I should do with fresh lima beans?

2 thoughts on “Weekend Highlights: Mother’s Day and Anniversary

Leave a Reply

