The Runs

I am not a morning person. Just ask my mother. Just ask my boyfriend. Actually, just ask anyone who’s ever known me. Unless it’s past 9:00 a.m. or I’ve had several sips of searing hot coffee I’m not awake yet– and there’s a chance that I may be a tad grumpy.*

Friday morning I woke up at 6:45, went to the gym and ran 2 miles. While I was proud of myself for running (I had run the night before after a 2-month long break due to a groin injury and it was far from easy), I was more proud of myself for getting up and getting my workout out of the way.

Normally, when 5:30 p.m. rolls around I’m frustrated, annoyed and tired from work. I just want to go home and leave the stress of the day behind me. Going to the gym, at least lately, has felt like a last minute task added at the end of my to-do list after a very long day.

After my quick 2-mile workout on Friday morning I felt relieved. No more “I have to workout later– don’t forget!” reminders in the back of my mind. No lingering, nagging feelings. The hard work was already done and I felt energetic and happy for the rest of the day. Now I understand why people flock to the gym at 6:00 a.m. (and also how they could possibly be so freaking happy for the rest of the day).

Don’t quote me on this, but I may have become a morning workout convert.

—-

Date: Thurs., May 24.

Miles Run: 2

Level of Difficulty: Relatively difficult

Notes: First run in over 2 months– was very careful to listen and to feel for groin pain. Focused on landing on the balls of my feet and pushing off through my big toe on each foot.

Date: Fri., May 25.

Miles Run: 2

Level of Difficulty: Relatively easy

Notes: Significantly easier than the day before! No groin pain, just focused on finding my stride and running correctly. Finished feeling happy and refreshed.

*In my own defense I’m becoming a better morning person. I’m no Doris Day yet but I’m on my way.

3 thoughts on “The Runs

  1. Hey! I can relate about not being a morning person hehe… I always feel so proud when I get myself up and out for a run in the morning… great to hear you are back running, injuries are evil I’ve also had my fair share! Love the feeling after finishing any run, always feel better for it. Good luck with it all. Happy running… Auds 🙂

Leave a Reply

