Grown Up Girl’s Wardrobe

I’m a huge believer in looking the part. Thomas Fuller, the man who said, “Good clothes open all doors,” was absolutely right. If he wasn’t, why do we sweat over what we wear to interviews or on first dates? While appearances might not mean everything, they most definitely mean something.

I’m several years out of college but my closet, however, isn’t. This girl needs a major wardrobe update– and in a bad, bad way.

Impractical stilettos and platform heels outnumber comfortable flats 7-to-1. Spaghetti strap summer dresses too short for work hang next to body-hugging black dresses I wore out dancing I wanted a boyfriend. Nearly unworn sorority recruitment ‘required items’ collect dust. Several black pencil skirts beg to be razored in order to remove the fabric nubbies that come from frequent wear and washing. There’s a lot of black and twice as much gray. An added bonus? A number of items need repairs, really need to be let go, are no longer stylish, or just don’t go with anything else.

Time to break out the trash bags!

Now, when the time comes for new clothes– which will be sooner rather than later because there’s a lot that’s headed to Goodwill– I have some unbreakable rules for myself:

Rule #1: I will not buy one item that doesn’t go with at least two other items in my closet. If this isn’t possible, I have two options: leave the item behind or…

Rule #2: Buy in outfits, not pieces. (Exceptions are made for jewelry or timeless pieces.)

Rule #3: Do not buy cheap clothing. “When you buy quality you only cry once.” – Chinese Proverb (and also, my mother).  Cheap clothing rips, tears, stains and shrinks much, much faster and easier than well-made clothing. An added bonus? No more impulse buys.

Rule #4: Always try on clothing.

Rule #5: Know your personal style. I’m a classic dresser with a bit of bohemian thrown in there. Think Katie Holmes meets Kate Hudson. I know, I’m still trying to figure it out, too.

Rule #6: Stay true to your personal style! This isn’t a rule I break very often, but it does happen when I come across a fun item that’s very in vogue.

Rule #7: Use accessories to update your timeless pieces, the building blocks of an adult wardrobe, which should include a(n)

  • Little Black Dress
  • Pair of Perfect Black Pumps
  • Pair of Perfect Nude Pumps
  • Trenchcoat
  • Little White Dress
  • Perfect White Tee
  • Denim Jacket
  • Tailored Blazer
  • Wedding Appropriate Dress
  • Date Night Clutch
  • Effortless Maxi Dress
  • Pair of Dark Wash Jeans
  • Pair of #$%* Me Pumps
  • Leather or Faux Leather Jacket
  • Office Appropriate Pencil or A-Line Skirt
  • Timeless Leather Bag
  • Go-With-Everything Ballet Flats
  • The Perfect-For-You Red Lipstick

Leave a Reply

