Juice Fast Check-in.

Today is day three of the juice fast. Let me recount to you the trials of days one and two.

Day 1– Everything Looks Like a Cheeseburger

By late afternoon on the first day everything looked like a cheeseburger– especially VW Bugs. We joked that one of us would wake up in the middle of the night to the other drooling or gnawing on our arm.

Earlier in that same day, I’d skipped my Team In Training long run meet-up in favor of a bit more sleep. In my defense, I’d stayed up late washing copious amounts of cruciferous vegetation in preparation for this juice fast. Instead of running 5 miles at 6:00 a.m., I ran just under 6 miles at 10:00 a.m. fueled by a mouthful of peanut butter and a large watermelon-blueberry-kale juice.

The run was just the right ratio of challenging and fun; I finished feeling energized and without a tinge of groin or calf pain. I felt accomplished and on top of the world–until I smelled bacon. Then, my stomach growled.

The rest of the day included handfuls of almonds and peanuts, a Mean Green Juice (kale, cucumber, celery, apple, lemon), Apple-Carrot-Beet juice and a lot of, “If you could eat anything in the world right now, what would you eat?” type questions. Cheeseburger was a clear winner for us both.

We weren’t hungry but we weren’t satisfied. I fell asleep to visions of feta, watermelon and tomato salad during a 20-minute nap. (I napped to assuage a headache.)

Around 8:30 we fled the house (and the juicer) and took a drive to Sullivan’s Island. We discussed how our bodies were reacting, which juices we liked best (Mean Green!) and what we felt we were learning from this fast.

I was by far the hungriest. I blame this on my half-marathon training. I was the only one who was suffering from headaches and tiredness, which I also blamed on the long run I’d taken earlier in the day.

My boyfriend was doing well with drinking the juices but wasn’t too keen on any of the flavors except for the Mean Green juice. (He actually threw up part of the Apple Carrot Beet juice.) He wasn’t too hungry but, as I said, we were far from satisfied.

Could we keep doing this?

The answer? No. We pulled up to Hardee’s at 9:21 p.m. and each ordered fries and a cheeseburger to go. Back at home we devoured our burgers. I also supplemented mine with celery and carrots dipped in a bit of blue cheese dressing.

Day 2 — We Find the Balance 

Sunday was decidedly easier than Saturday for one very, very important reason: we let ourselves snack on raw fruits and vegetables in addition to drinking raw juices.

Breakfast? Peachy Green juice (peaches, apples, squash, beet green, lemon). Lunch? Leftover Peachy Green juice and celery with peanut butter for him. “What have you done to me?” he asked as this was all he wanted after playing soccer for two hours. I ate celery, carrots, a few pickles and a juice of carrots, watermelon, celery and cucumbers.

“If juicing makes me feel the way I did after soccer then it’s well worth it,” he remarked. This is the first time he’s not been agonizingly tired after playing soccer on Sundays.

For dinner we had a plate full of vegetables and lean grilled burgers (no bun, no cheese, no nothin’ fun) and were perfectly satisfied. No headaches, no lethargy, no hangriness.

We’ve found the balance.

The Verdict?

Well, we’re eating lots of raw fruits and vegetables and still juicing. We probably will be juicing for the foreseeable future. My boyfriend is so encouraged by his energy boost that he’s dedicated to drinking raw vegetable juice with dinner to supplement his vegetable intake. This, he says, is easier than eating a salad.

It is my opinion than you cannot live an active lifestyle and be happy and fulfilled consuming nothing but juice. There’s a reason you don’t hear of athletes consuming only vegetable juice and occasional mouthfuls of peanut butter. At some point your body goes, “What the fuck are you doing?” My body did that yesterday.

That said, I do believe that adding these micronutrients to your diet through juicing is a great way to supplement your nutrient intake. We both have SO MUCH ENERGY and are actually craving vegetables after two days of juicing/juicing and eating vegetables.

 

2 thoughts on “Juice Fast Check-in.

Leave a Reply

