The Fast is Complete!

So, the juice fast is complete.

 

As you well may know, after the first day my boyfriend and I discovered that a juice-only diet was unsustainable and unconscionably miserable. So, we modified our diet to include fruits, vegetables, lean protein and a bit of low-fat dairy here and there. In short, we drank raw fruit and vegetable juice supplemented with very healthy food.

 

And a slice of pizza last Thursday that tasted unbelievably good.

 

Even with our cheeseburger-and-pizza-slice mess-ups, after 10 days our eating behaviors have changed. We are more conscious of our food choices, committed to choosing healthier options, free of cravings, experiencing increased energy, and have a desire to consume less.

 

The whites of our eyes are also whiter. Is that even possible?

 

As we move forward, both boyfriend and I are committed to incorporating fresh juice into our daily diets.

 

We spent about $70.00 ($35 each) on produce (kale, apples, blueberries, spinach, squash, blueberries, strawberries, peaches, beets, lemons, etc.) In the span of 10 days, we drank approximately 20 raw juices, which figures out to be $3.50 per juice. We drank 16 ounces per serving.

 

Has this inspired you to start your own cleanse? What are you most concerned about? What’s your favorite juice combination?

 

*We were unable to use all of the kale. A word to the wise: kale smells terribly bad when it begins to decompose. Use this cruciferous vegetable quickly. If we hadn’t let this power food go bad, our price per juice would have been much, much lower.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Fast is Complete!

  1. Annabel, I followed this series with great interest. I have a couple of questions, though. What sort of juicer did you use, or were you dedicated to only a blender? Was there any appreciable weight loss? As an aside, I made the portabella mushroom stuffed with ricotta and kale. Although filling, the Spousal Unit and myself found this just a little on the bland side. I made it again last night. This time I placed a couple of tablespoons of homemade tomato sauce on the salt and peppered mushrooms. I also diced four very small and tender baby squash, diced about half a vidalia onion, three cloves of garlic and half of a red bell pepper, then sauteed the mixture (added salt and pepper to taste). I added this to the ricotta and kale mixture ( I reduced the amount of ricotta to about 3/4 cup) along with a handful of grated parm. After stuffing the mushroom caps, I grated more fresh parm over the caps.
    Delicious! Thank you so much for the inspiration!

    1. Great questions!

      I used a rather inexpensive and old juicer from Wal-Mart. In my experience, the less “professional” your juicer, the less adept it will be at handling leafy greens like kale or spinach. I’ve heard of others using a blender and sieve method to juice, which seems doable but rather messy. A kale or spinach smoothie complete with apples, frozen bananas and a bit of almond milk is surprisingly delicious and, in my opinion, a great way to ease into juicing.

      As for the portobello mushroom recipe, I’m sorry you felt it was bland! A lot of my recipes are a bit ad-hoc; I don’t keep track of precise measurements. I’m glad you made it your own. I also really like the term “spousal unit.”

      Thanks for reading!

    1. Thank you, Paige! I think you’ll like juicing. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed both the juice and its effects on my body and mind. Let me know if you do try something like this!

  2. Congrats on that. I only made it through a couple of hours of a detox a couple of years ago. I had a really bad headache so took painkillers with a lovely cup of tea! Not great I know!

    1. I definitely experienced a lot of headaches, some nausea and other symptoms of detoxification. I took my share of painkillers with tea, too! Headaches are painful and annoying.

Leave a Reply

