Stewed Okra and Tomatoes (and a weekend recap)

How was your weekend?

I spent the first 6 hours of my weekend at the downtown farmer’s market with the awesome ladies of the Juice Joint. Wendy, the Juice Joint’s owner, graciously donated 100% of the proceeds from sales of the Green Lantern juice to my Team In Training’s fundraising efforts. As I left the farmer’s market, I could tell that my throat had begun to hurt just a tad…

…by the time I went to bed on Saturday evening, the right side of the back of my throat was all red and inflamed. Even now it hurts to swallow, breathe, and eat. Sunday was definitely not fun. 😦 The weirdest bit? I’m not exhibiting any other symptoms– not even a slightly elevated temperature.

In other news, I tried to remain a bit busy to keep my mind off of the fact that even swallowing hurts. I got a library card and checked out my first book, I made a kick-ass stewed okra and tomato recipe, my picky eater boyfriend enjoyed everything that I made, there’s a canister of homemade half sour pickles fermenting in my cupboard, and I bought the Us Weekly issue that features the wedding of Ryan Reynolds & Blake Lively’s wedding.

 

Why am I excited about this issue? Check out that byline! I was hired to do some freelance reporting for this story!

As part of last week’s CSA box, I received a nice bit of okra. There’s plenty more produce to use in my fridge from this last CSA box, but the okra was the ingredient I was most worried about putting to good use.

Come to think of it, this might have been the first time I’ve ever cooked okra at home.

Stewed okra and tomatoes is a southern favorite and surprisingly easy to make. This version infuses the stew with cumin, coriander, paprika and a blend of sweet, savory and tart flavors to make it a touch more sophisticated.

Stewed Okra and Tomatoes

Serves 2

  • 1 large heirloom tomato, cut into chunks; 1/2 medium-sized heirloom tomato, cut into chunks
  • 1/4 white onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped okra
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • ground nutmeg
  • 3-4 tbsp chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil

Directions

  1. In a medium soup pot over medium-high heat, melt 1 tbsp coconut oil.
  2. Sauté garlic and onion until fragrant and translucent; about 3 -4 minutes.
  3. Add spices; a hefty pinch of salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste. Stir to combine.
  4. Add tomatoes and okra, stirring. Let cook for about 1-2 minutes.
  5. Add brown sugar, soy sauce, and vinegar. Bring to a heavy simmer. Continue to stir over medium to medium-low heat covering the pot between stirs.
  6. After 5-7 minutes, the okra-tomato mixture should have thickened. Taste and adjust seasonings, adding soy sauce, more spices to taste. Add chicken stock and continue to stir as it comes to a simmer.

 

One thought on “Stewed Okra and Tomatoes (and a weekend recap)

Leave a Reply

