Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars

I started reading this book after reading a review by Katie Hurst, niche editor of local Charleston paper the Post and Courier. Once I picked up this book from the library I found myself completely absorbed in the story and invested in the characters Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters.

the fault in our stars book review

About the novel

Hazel has cancer and, despite the magical pills that have stalled the growth of the tumors in her lungs, she’s always known her life was destined to be a short one. When she meets hunky Augustus Waters at her cancer support group, Hazel’s life is suddenly filled with something more than the inconveniences of being terminally ill.

 

What I liked about the novel

First and foremost, protagonist Hazel Grace is a very likable character and doesn’t have pity parties about her shitty situation. She speaks openly about what its really like to have cancer with sarcasm and honesty. Despite being billed as a young adult novel, The Fault in Our Stars broaches some intense subjects (death, true love, the meaning of life) with great heart and gallows humor.

 

Disappointments

I liked everything about the book. I didn’t even mind crying at several points during the story.

 

Favorite Quotes/Parts of the Book

“Illness repulses. I’d learned that a long time ago.”

 

“I am in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.”

 

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”

 

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts?

 

Leave a Reply

